OCBA Seeks Nominations for Distinguished Lawyer and Ruger Awards


2014 Distinguished Lawyer Nominations

Distinguished Lawyer and Ruger Award Recipients

The Onondaga County Bar Association (OCBA) is seeking nominations for its 2014 Distinguished Lawyer Award.  OCBA has been honoring a local lawyer for distinguished service to the profession since 1968.  The Distinguished Lawyer Committee reviews written nominations, and recommends a candidate to the Board of Directors for its approval.

In order to qualify for nomination, the lawyer:

(1)   must have devoted a full-time professional career to the law;

(2)   must possess exceptional lawyering skills;

(3)   must display a devotion or dedication to the profession as evidenced by involvement or participation in projects or activities, reflecting an unselfish donation of time to the betterment of the profession; and

(4)   must possess ethics beyond reproach.

The Distinguished Lawyer Committee is also accepting nominations for the William C. Ruger Centennial Award, which was created during the OCBA Centennial in 1975.  The Ruger Award was named after the first president of the OCBA, who later served as Chief Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals.  This award is given to a judicial officer and is “reserved for recognition of singularly outstanding achievement in devotion to the principles of our system of justice.”  Since the creation of this award, only seven jurists have been its recipients.

The awards are presented at OCBA’s Annual Dinner, to be held at Traditions at the Links (at Erie Village) on Thursday, October 23 (2014).  The Committee would like to receive nominations by Monday, June 9, 2014.

Nominations may be submitted to the OCBA office, to the attention of Gioia A. Gensini, Chairperson, Distinguished Lawyer Committee.  Any OCBA member interested in more information about these awards or the nomination process may contact the OCBA office at 471-2667 or Gioia Gensini at 234-8604.